Skull Skeletal System

The Skull consist of 22bones. The bones of the cranium protect the brain and provide muscle attachment points for muscles of the skull.

  • Frontal Bone – this forms the forehead and the upper part of the eye sockets.
  • Parietal bone – this forms the roof of the cranium. We recognize this as the anterior fontanelle.
  • Occipital bone – this forms the back of the cranium.
  • Temporal bone – this forms part of the sides of the cranium situated above the ears.
  • Sphenoid bone – this forms the upper floor base of the cranium – a bridge between the facial bones and the cranium.
  • Ethmoid bone – this forms part of the eye socket and the roof of the nasal cavity and art of the nasal spectrum
  • Lachrymal bone – bones found medically within the orbital cavity (eye sockets)
  • Turbinate bone – these located either side of the walls of the nasal cavity.
  • Vomer bone – facial bone at the back of the nasal spectrum
  • Palatine bone – bones that form the anterior portion of the roof of the mouth.
  • Zygomatic arch – bones either side of the face forming the cheek bones.
  • Maxilla – bones that form the upper part of the jaw and contain the upper teeth at the front of the face.
  • Mandible – lower jawbone contains the lower teeth.
  • Mastoid – situated on the lower edge of the occipital bone.
  • Nasal – bones that extend forward from the base of the frontal bone.
(Visited 10 times, 1 visits today)